Creative Minds are Rarely Tidy!!

Maris' Grotto

A messy mixed media collage

And my hands are often messy so this week’s challenge at Tuesday Taggers was a natural for me. Of course, I decided to take it to heart and try to make a mess, when truthfully, that just comes naturally to me. (You did read the blog about the glittered bird ornaments back in Dec, right? No? Go ahead–I’ll wait 😉 ). So I decided not to intensively glitter my hands this time although I think I am ready for some spring birdies and eggs for a wreath. TIP: Use lotion first–it has to help. Whenever I remember, I’ll let you know. LOL. So I had seen this Posh Impressions by Dee Gruenig set at Tuesday Morning and picked it up, carried it around, put it back. It’s “Broadway Brights”—now I LOVE color but just could not figure out where or when I would use these so…BUT I could use some dryer sheets that have already served the antistatic purpose and kind of tie dye them for an inspiration piece and, hmm, it wasn’t snowing so back to the store I went. I started with the dryer sheets and rolled about 6 of them into a tube and tied it off with some fiber bits. I applied the inks and mushed them thru with my bare fingers. I unrolled them and got out a 4×6 canvas. They were all splotchy and not at all right so more ink, more mushing. Enter Modge Podge onto the canvas and then more to build layers. I wanted colorful, rainbow, textured layers but the more glue I added, the more it toned down and blended the colors. Toss the paint brush and go at the glue with bare hands. Staple some unruly edges down in back and somewhere in there I saw a deep sea haven with trails of light trickling down. Then I added more ink and overworked it. So I tried adding an undyed dryer sheet. Not the cure. Blotting with a damp paper towel. Nope. Blotting with a baby wipe (it is frightening we use these to cleanse such delicate skin when you think all the other things they are so perfect to clean!) but NOPE. Hairspray (for the alcohol). Nope. Can you guess just what made it this way? Spray with a minimister of water and sprinkle with OxiClean. Let it set and then wash it off after a few minutes. (Still want to get back to the luscious greens and blues I had for another project but…loved these shadows). The “seaweed”? Remember those fiber bits that tied up the dryer sheets for the tie-dye effect? That’s them glued with Scotch quick dry adhesive. Shells, sand and bits also glued with quick dry adhesive (but if you have a dimensional adhesive handy, I’d use it). The mermaid was a stamp from Big Lots—I LOVE mermaids but I think other than Disney’s Ariel, this is my only stamp of one. Stamped her on white with Ranger Archival Black ink. Patted her down withVersaMark Dewdrops Aspen Mist (must be getting near bifocals time–this is an edit to correct) and her scales with Ocean Depth. Colored in her hair with a copper glitter gel pen and her facial features with a fine point pink Slick Writer. Colored some little shells with Ocean Depth to give her some modesty. Slapped some Zots on her backside and hid her in the seaweed (or hairy stuff as DH observed). The stamp has her holding her hand mirror and a comb but I trimmed those off. Tried a message in a bottle and various shells but decided she had discovered some sunken treasure. The coins are for trim and shiny bright but I aged them a bit with the black ink.  A happy accident that provided an extra challenge and my hands STILL have ink on them–it’s been fun to see who will ask why and who will just stare.
Thanks for looking. Go get good and messy and link back to Tuesday Taggers www.tuesdaytaggers.blogspot.com. They have a prize from The Craft Barn and you just might win! Don’t forget to mention The Craft Barn in YOUR post to be eligible to win by random drawing!  Happy Crafting! P.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicks
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 18:08:02

    Absolutely stunning!!! – why havent I found your blog before?????
    Oh well I have found it now!!

    Reply

  2. Lolly
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 17:28:14

    This is completely amazing Paula (I would love to see even more of the detail)! Who knew OxiClean could be so crafty!

    …and you are the second person this week who has mentioned getting something crafty at BigLots. I was just there about a month ago and there was nary a craft anything to be seen in that store. I am going to have to go and look again cause obviously I am missing something!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    HUGS!
    Lolly

    Reply

  3. Crafty Dawn
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 14:44:41

    Gosh the efforts we goto for our craft! well it was worth it looks fab!

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

