Playing again ;)

A few weeks ago, Lolly over at Lollychops.com had a week of postings about flowers (5 whole days of inspirations) and this one caught my eye http://www.lollychops.com/lollychops/2010/03/wall-flowers-week-finally-fuschia-friday.html. Having gone the widely varied crafting experimentation route, I just happened to have some crochet thread and some steel hooks. Had never been successful before but thought I’d give the tutorials and pattern a whirl. Trust me, if I can do this, YOU can do this ;). So I crocheted my little fingers into knots and had all these little flowers and began to think what I could do with them.  Some will definitely go onto cards and altered items.  Today I made tags and brooches.

On the pink tag, I actually layered two floppy flowers together to make an extra poofy posey. I used a size 7 hook and Aunt Lydia size 10 threads. The leaf is a variation of the pattern provided in the current Crafts N Things magazines (READ: I worked a bit and when it looked about right, I finished off and used it as is. Will update the designer’s name here soon.) The pattern is for a scarf with Irish Roses that I’ll attempt sometime. (WAY TOO MANY DISTRACTIONS this week).
For the pink tag, I started with a manilla shipping tag and distressed it with pink pigment ink. Overstamped that with a script background stamp in sepia and then a corner flourish in purple. Finally stamped the sentiment in Stazon Royal Purple. Took a safety pin (about an inch and a half) and tied off the two extra poofy poseys and one leaf to the straight side.  With a hole punch, punch 2 holes and pin the brooch on.
For the second version, I started with the manilla tag and distressed with a JoAnn’s mixed pigment pad, then rubbed it in to blend. Overstamp that with the wildflowers in Stazon Royal Purple. The brooch, again, started with a safety pin. I tried using one of those plastic thingys that hold products in a box with huge twisty ties. (If you’ve bought toys in the past 10 years, you know what I mean ;). Join me in cursing those shoplifters who made such drastic measures necessary!!) I tied off the blossoms and leaves thru the holes in it and to the safety pin, to try to give it better “ooomph”, —recycling!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crafty Dawn
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 19:21:15

    Something beautiful well done hun I love yr flowers

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  2. LollyChops
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 08:40:37

    These are so awesome!!!! I love how you added them to those beautiful tags and the leaves are totally cool too!!!!!!

    HUGS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

