Twisted Sketches Card #32

Merry Christmas from Twisted Sketches Card Sketch #32

It seems I have been AWOL awhile and my apologies. More on that later but first, head to the Twisted Sketches blog at www.twistedsketches.com to check out this week’s great sketch with a ‘twist’ of PUNCH. Let me preface this by saying that SOMEONE sent very few Christmas cards the past two years because SOMEONE didn’t get them created in time and so that someone has pledged to get them out this year before all her loved ones and fabulous friends write her off as a lost cause so…I’m helping “her” out by making some cards right now ;). This one uses the fab sketch you just looked at (you did go to the site, right? NO! Go now! I’ll wait here. OK) I began with cardstock and patterned paper from The Paper Studio from Hobby Lobby in the Greetings of the Season pack. Trimmed the light green cardstock to 6″x9″ and folded for the base, then the dark green to 4″x5.5″. The poinsettia page is trimmed to 2″x2″ squares and attached. The burgundy cardstock is PUNCHED 6 times using the EK Success daisy punch, these are staggered and layered, then topped with those cute topaz jewels (source unknown–they were a swap gift) to resemble poinsettias. The Stampabilities sentiment was stamped with Jet Black Stazon on the smooth side of a piece of the light green cardstock and there you have it. Everything except the jewels (which were self adhesive) was attached using a Scotch ATG gun (ask Santa nicely for one–you’ll love it!). Now the rundown,
My DH who doesn’t really have a travelling job has worked out of town or taken training the past 3 weeks, leaving me to single parent the two children who attend two different schools. Meanwhile my youngest developed a stomach virus the first week and managed to stretch the 24 hour kind into a week of troubles and passed it along to Mom midweek. DH had brief 48 hour “layovers” (sleepovers) between all his travel. Card sketch #30 was due that first week but yours truly had no energy and the computer screen did not serve to settle the tummy so…sorry! I intend to go back and make the card soon & of course, I’ll share! Week 2, my oldest child had his second asthma attack, at school (as he’s just been diagnosed with exercise induced asthma), and I was playing catch up at work and prepping for Halloween, three costumes and homeroom mother treat bag duty. This past week, while I bordered on Mommy meltdown, prepping for a birthday party for my youngest (Sunday, she’s 5 today!) and my oldest (Thursday the 11th when he’ll turn 10!), my oldest developed a sinus infection. So, not to whine, but I thought the great folks who follow my blog would forgive me this time. After my mom turns 60 on the 13th (we really like November birthdays in my family!), I think (SSSHHH!) I may make it because I already have a few Christmas gifts bought. So I’m back to making Christmas cards and now, I’m challenging you to use this week’s twisted sketch to create a card (for any occasion) and SHARE it! Happy Crafting! And I promise not to be gone so long next time :)!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amy Baldwin
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 20:33:06

    I love the poinsettas! Very festive card!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

