Jolly Blogger 12 Days of Christmas, Smeared & Smudged Ink Style, DAY 4

The Christmas Gift Assembler

Hello all, Merry Hoppers! Time for Day 4 in the Jolly Blogger 12 Days of Christmas at Smeared and Smudged Ink (www.smearedandsmudged.ning.com) . Today is a Smeared Ink extra challenge day. My entry isn’t overtly Christmas-y but was inspired by actual events. tee hee.
I have a 3″x 6″ tag in white cardstock, topped with a 2.75″ x 5.75″ red cardstock, added a few strips of electrical tape and then the fun begins! Fervently working to get those gifts assembled is the Mad Scientist, a digi stamp from Smeared Ink (find him here: www.smearedink.com alone or with a whole set of goodies). I colored him in with Cretacolor AquaMonolith watercolor pencils except his skin tone is Peach Karat Aquarell watercolor crayon by Staedtler. I trimmed him out with my Cutterbee scissors and trimmed the top off the test tube in his left hand. Tipped his gift parts to be assembled, hair and eyebrows with black glitter glue from JoAnn’s. I generated the sentiment in Microsoft Word in Biondi font, size 12 or 14, and Bold print. Tore those for a deckled edge and tipped with a black Sharpie to highlight the charred bits of his hair and soot smudges on his face. There’s a bit of the bricked wall from Day 3 on popdots down in front. And the inspiration?  A drum set my brother received and a busted lip when someone realized the drum head was installed backwards & that was why the spring had to be trimmed.  It wasn’t quite stretchy enough to protect Santa’s chief helper. Be sure to check out my latest Twisted Sketches DT card, two posts below.   Hope you enjoy! Happy Crafting, P.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 13:55:33

    I’m going to be chuckling over the text on your tag all day!

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 16:12:00

    This is so funny I love it
    Luv Jane xxx

    Reply

  3. Alison
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 16:18:05

    Haha! Funny story! This project goes along great with it!

    Reply

  4. Alex
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 19:33:16

    LOL- stop calling it an explosion, 🙂 Fabulous!!!!

    Reply

  5. Donna Mundinger
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 19:45:09

    HILARIOUS!!! I can’t stop laughing! xxD

    Reply

  6. whatspeaks2myheart
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 19:52:15

    Thanks everyone! I forgot to say that after I attached the upper text, I decided to crumple and rough the text up so I did crumple the explosion part. That’s why it looks just a little wonky.

    Reply

  7. Steph
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 22:04:19

    HaHa! The tag goes perfect with your story, great job with all the coloring too…..and black glitter glue… oh my gosh I need that!

    Reply

  8. kapree
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 02:47:02

    lol this is great! I love the charred hair! omg this is great!

    Reply

  9. lisa
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 07:52:08

    love the story with the tag! with having small children, hubby and i feel this way when trying to put together gifts! great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

