Jolly Blogger Smeared & Smudged Ink 12 Days of Christmas DAY 5 UPDATED

Say that 3 times fast! Or even one!

Jolly Blogger Day 5

Just a quick post. If you would like more details, LOOK BELOW!
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas and this is my entry for today’s blog hop. Something a little different for me and I’ve not quite got the hang of it but here ya go. Suggestions and feedback are welcomed! Be sure to check out the fabulous stuff the other bloggers have for you by following the links to the right there ========>

HERE’s the goods:  The base is a 3″x6″ piece of Bristol paper. I used embossing ink pad and stamped the Inkadinkado Father Christmas collage clear stamp (this is from a set so I’m not certain the name of this exact stamp) and the sentiment & added embossing powder, that I thought was white but turned out to be clear.  After setting that with a heat gun and letting it cool,  I used a bristle brush (the kind that looks like a shaving brush) with red and then another with green pigment inks, alternating for a diagonal striped effect. .  Then for the red, I also  added Stazon Blazing Red and Tattered Angels, Mint Green, glimmer mist over the green.  The jolly fellow didn’t show as I wanted, so since it was a clear stamp, I overstamped that with Archival ink in black.  The trees at the bottom are Stampin’ UP from the Loads of Love set, stamped with Stazon Forest Green.  Some were stamped without reinking to add dimension.

 I played around with it more later and edged it with green pigment ink & added a ribbon, but sent it off to a friend without taking a picture.  After I finish up some work, I will try to make another and post since I liked that finish better.  LOL

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 16:36:46

    Very nice, love the soft muted colors. Did you sponge you ink or use chalks? All the stamps you chose work really well together, great job!

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 16:57:38

    I love this I like the colours you have used a fantastic card
    Luv Jane xxx

    Reply

  3. Tami
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 20:42:09

    the soft colours under Pere Noel are just delightful.

    Reply

  4. Alex
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 22:25:22

    This is very pretty. Love the multicolors on the background and the vintage image together.

    Reply

  5. Donna Mundinger
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 23:37:54

    Beautiful inking! I love it! xxD

    Reply

  6. kapree
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 02:16:33

    this is great! I love the colors and the technique!

    Reply

  7. Alison
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 15:18:34

    Ooh! I love the colors, and the softness of this piece! If you had used a Halloween image,it would be positivly twisted! But here, it’s soft and lovely!

    Reply

  8. deniserows
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 21:39:28

    ahoy..reminds me of one of those stampscape images. so nice and muted

    Reply

  9. lisa
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 07:49:03

    the coloring is great! it looks like a softer verison of tie-dye! great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

