Smeared & Smudged Ink 11th Day of Christmas

It’s almost over and the big day is almost here. But before Christmas, there are two last days of Christmas Smeared & Smudged Ink style. Be sure to check out all the fantastic projects the other bloggers have to share with you by following the links at the right ———>.
But first, remember I told you I was wanting to try something a little different for me. Here goes:

Christmas Yet to Come--Scrooge

SS ink Day 11--Christmas yet to come, Tiny Tim

What do you think? I began with chipboard coasters that are about 4″x6″ and misted them with a homemade turquoise spray and Pewter Shimmering Mist, lighter application for Tim. All stamps are Inkadinkado (I don’t know how I managed to grab only from the one company entirely for this project except that I love them. Yes I would be interested in Design Team work :). Will work for stamps!) The bare tree, tombstones and spider web are clear dollar stamps from the Halloween collection this year. The snowflake swirl, skeleton and pine trees are wood mounted that I have had for a few years. The tombstones were stamped with Palette Noir Black on currogated cardboard (and for Scrooge, directly onto the chipboard also). The cardboard was cut out & inked up a bit with Distress Worn Wood & I wrote in the names with a black ballpoint pen. I peeled some off the backs and roughed up Scrooge’s with neglect. The bare tree and snowflake flourish were stamped with Adirondack Slate dye ink. The tree was overstamped with Palette because I wanted it to be more prominent. Adhere Scrooge’s tombstone, slanting back a bit & add the spider web. The “snow” is homemade fuzz (shredded styrofoam ball). The skeleton was stamped in black on dark brown heavy weight paper, cut out with arm amputated for later use and glued down with arm pointing toward the tombstone. The cape was built from Around the Block Fun Flock with a bit of a peek a boo effect to show the visceral nature of the Ghost of Christmas future.
Meanwhile, Tim’s tombstone and grave have been placed in a place of evergreen life. The pines are stamped with Stazon Forest Green and then stamped off before reinking. The candle came with Prima flowers and was colored with markers and trimmed. The base has gold stickles that are mostly hidden. The full base included a heart, which was colored & cut & added to Tim’s tombstone by his dear family. They’ve also lit the candle to ward off winter’s gloom and added a warm garland of hollies and so forth, fashioned from Vintage Christmas Flower Soft.
Scrooge’s side was more of what I wanted to try for today but I also wanted to contrast the two so I created a dyptych.
Thanks again for all of your visits to my blog and kind comments! Happy Crafting, P.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 07:31:40

    this is fabolous work! i love the vintage/tintype feel! wonderful

    Reply

  2. Donna Mundinger
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:57:36

    Oh MY! these are just AMAZING! I keep clicking the pictures to enlarge so I don’t miss a single fabulous detail! xxD

    Reply

  3. Alex
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 11:47:28

    WOW! I do not even have words for how amazing this is. I made the pics larger for the detail and we even more speechless. The detail in the ghost, is ….. amazing! I need new words for this!!

    Reply

  4. deniserows
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 13:06:15

    ahoy..the detail is outstanding. all the work makes me feel like i’m right in the story with Dickens leading me to this point. awesome

    Reply

  5. Steph
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 15:37:09

    Wow, these are wonderful! Love how you added the candle next to Tiny Tim…. poor Tiny Tim

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 16:05:12

    Awesome just love them
    Luv Jane xxx

    Reply

  7. Alison
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 16:22:52

    These are both great! I esp love the swrls in the first one.

    Reply

  8. Tami
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 23:39:31

    those are both so elegant. I love the swirly back drop on the scrooge image.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

