Cherish—twisted sketches card sketch #42

"Cherish"

I’ve been doing some other stuff too, but either forgot to photograph it, it’s still in progress or it has to simmer just a bit before I can share. And so today, I’m sharing my Design Team card for Twisted Sketches Card Sketch #42. The original sketch can be found at the site: http://www.twistedsketches.com  and the twist for this week is “diecut”, anyway you choose to include them.

The finished card is 4.25″ x 5.5″ folded.  I began with Bazzill Basics Textured Cardstock (not sure but guessing it’s a celadon green), trimmed it .  I selected a page from K&Co. Life’s Journey double-sided cardstock stack and trimmed it.  Then I used my Making Memories Slice electronic die-cutting system and Vintage Findings Design Card with the Bazzill Cardstock and a darker green one from Paper Connections to create the leaves and the sentiment panel.  These were adhered with Scotch ATG gun and Scotch Quick Dry adhesive.  The sentiment panel was edge distressed and then stamped with Ranger Archival Sepia Ink.  The sentiment stamp is from Fiskars love collection clear stamps.  I first tried punching the edge with Martha Stewart Punch around the page punches but didn’t like that as well as I expected.  (You might see it peeking out under the lace.) The lace and green trim are from JoAnn’s. The lace was a bright white but I wanted a more subtle effect.  I thought I could get a quicker aging using diluted Walnut ink rather than using the tea dye method.  This worked but I want to try another piece with tea and see what happens.  This particular lace didn’t accept the dye as well  as one with a higher cotton content might either.

This was a fun sketch to work with and I’m excited to see what you create with it.   Please visit the Twisted Sketches site and link back to your creations so we can have a peek!

Thanks for stopping by! Happy Crafting! P

P.S. Check back this WED.  for the Smeared and Smudged Ink Members blog hop.  And I plan to share those projects that were published in Scrapbook News & Review soon, if you missed them.  But for now, go rest your peepers and get crafty!
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. milkcan
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 19:08:00

    Love the leaves! So glad you’re participating in Art Journal Every Day!

    Reply

  2. Diane
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:30:10

    Love this card, the leaves are gorgeous! Your lace turned out beautifully, I have had problems with the tea on my polyester lace too. I found that the Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist works well too. ~Diane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

