GECKO GALZ Mermaid’s Purse

Mermaid Purse

When I saw all the gorgeous sea oriented goodies from the July release at Gecko Galz, I thought of a trip to an aquarium near Virginia Beach where the guide told us about the “mermaid’s purse”—a puffy little black piece of sea detritus that was the egg casing for, I think, a conch. And I thought, what girl doesn’t love a beautiful purse!! I know a few ladies who no longer carry one, but even they seem to appreciate a beautiful one.
I began with a chipboard purse blank from a scrapbook kit from Michaels (I think they are Colorbok but will have to check). I printed the beachy keen papers (the large part of the purse was printed 5×7 and the handle was from the ATC Beachy Keen page). The starfish, beach babes, seahorse and sting ray were printed as passport size 45 mm x 55 mm, trimmed, colored with colored pencils and layered on. The compass and anchor are from the collage sheet that includes the Titanic and other nautical wonders. The decorative fibers (I was thinking seaweed but not sure a mermaid would use this just to decorate her bag so it can be faux or a renewable resource) are fun fiber yarns. It was fun to do and I still want to add something but not sure what. The shell “clasp” was printed wallet size and colored with metallic colored pencils.
There are also some awesome birthday collage sheets that I want to get to work with but haven’t gotten that worked out yet. (So I’ve used Beachy Keen, Sail Away, and Splish Splash). There’s a sale going on. Check them all out at http://www.geckogalz.com. There’s also special items available for purchase just for newsletter followers each month and some freebies at the shop site each month. I’ll be back with more fun creations soon. Happy Crafting! Paula

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alteredforhim
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 09:20:50

    Very pretty! The colors are all so pretty together.

    Have a great day!

    Reply

  2. Eternal Princess Ryan
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 23:29:21

    This is way cool! I love it! You did an awesome job! Way To Go!!!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 10:32:40

    Extremely cool!

    Reply

  4. Donna Mundinger
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 11:23:35

    Ooh, this is just GORGEOUS! xxD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

GeckoGalz Design Team Member July 2011-July 2012

Smeared Ink Design Team

